top of page

My Top Reads of 2022




2022 has officially come and (almost) gone. It had its ups and downs, and many in-betweens. And, as always, this year was filled with books I loved!


I'm excited to share with you the top ten books that I read this year! Without further ado (and in no particular order):




Daughters of a Dead Empire by Carolyn Tara O'Neil

I love Anastasia stories and historical retellings, so this story was a perfect combination of both! In an alternate history set during the Russian Revolution, Anastasia survives the massacre on her family and escapes the Bolsheviks. When she meets Evgenia, she pays the girl to get her to safety--but little does she know Evgenia is a supporter of the revolution. O'Neil keeps readers on their toes from beginning to end and creates two fierce female leads for readers to stand behind!



A Far Wilder Magic by Allison Saft

This second book of Saft's was so unlike her first, that I didn't think I was going to like it. That feeling changed quickly, and this book quickly became one that I couldn't put down. Exploring themes of what love is and should be, loneliness and the feeling of belonging, and prejudice, this book offers so much more to its reader. With magic, love, laughs, and more emotions than I can count, Saft's work should definitely be on your radar if it isn't already.


Winnie Zeng Unleashes a Legend by Katie Zhao

This was such a fun middle-grade read! Winnie is a fantastic lead that readers will quickly fall in love with and root for throughout her adventures (and misadventures). It was full of Chinese mythology, the funny musings of a middle schooler, and even RECIPES for some of the yummy food mentioned in the story! Highly recommend getting lost in this world.



Egypt's Fire by Tom Phillips

This first book in The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves series was a fun mystery romp through New York, full of twists and turns to keep any reader engaged! Pitched as for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events and Enola Holmes, I think readers will fall in love with John and the quirky and eccentric detective Toadius!



The Witch's Heart by Genevieve Gornichec

I know this book came out in 2021 and I'm a bit behind, BUT I finally got the chance to read it (yay for vacations) and I absolutely loved it. Always a fan of mythology from around the world, diving into the Norse myth of Angrboda--and inevitably Ragnarok--was wonderful. Full of emotion and a woman's love and strength, I couldn't put this book down.



Book Lovers by Emily Henry

This was my first Emily Henry book, and I have to say it did not disappoint. Usually one to stick with YA, it was a nice change of pace to read an adult romance! As someone in the publishing industry, the characters and their story line was fun to read. Nora and Charlie have the perfect banter I love to read!


Wild is the Witch by Rachel Griffin

Another author that has quickly became one of my favorites is Rachel Griffin. I fell in love with The Nature of Witches, and her second book did not disappoint at all. So atmospheric, and so beautifully written. Griffin is a master at creating characters that feel so real, whose emotions and challenges are so relatable that it's easy to put yourself into the story as a reader. Full of the beauty of nature, enemies-to-lovers, and a fresh magic system, this is one you must add to your list.



Belladonna by Adalyn Grace

A highly romantic, Gothic-infused world of wealth, desire, and betrayal you say? Yes, please! When I tell you I devoured this book. Part murder mystery, part sweeping gothic romance, Belladonna promises to be the start of yet another series of stories from Grace to look out for! I will warn you ahead of time: the ending of this book will make you want to have its sequel already in hand.



Salt and Sugar by Rebecca Carvallho

Salt and Sugar gives readers a Romeo and Juliet story full of mouth-watering food, feuding, and falling in love. Adding in the neighborhood and its importance to the characters gives it an inspiring twist that I think many people can relate to. Do not read on an empty stomach! I wanted to try everything mentioned in this book. Having the food play such a prominent role in the story really made the culture shine! Showing readers the importance of community and local-owned businesses is also something I really appreciated and felt drawn to in the story.



For the Throne by Hannah Whitten

The second (and final) book of the Wilderwood duology was a dark, twisting and turning read that I was sad to see come to and end. While I did feel like Whitten did a fantastic job of wrapping up the stories within the book, I just wasn't ready to let this world go. Sisterly love, monstrous men more than what they seem, and light and dark magic combine to create one fantastic duology I cannot rave enough about.




Until next year. Now, let's go read some more books!


You Might Also Like:
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page