Book Review: The Nature of Witches




The Nature of Witches by Rachel Griffin

Releases: June 1, 2021







"Vibrant and magical, THE NATURE OF WITCHES is an achingly beautiful exploration of love and hope perfect for fans of Shea Ernshaw and Taylor Swift's Folklore. This book is a ray of sunshine." - Rosiee Thor, author of Tarnished Are the Stars





RUN--don't walk--to get this book immediately.


The Nature of Witches was the most unputdownable book I've read for a while, and I loved every second of it. Also, currently sad that I finished it.


The Nature of Witches follows Clara--an Everwitch whose magic is strongest in all seasons rather than just one like other witches. She's meant to be the most powerful of them all, but her magic comes with a price she's unwilling to pay. If saving the Earth means those she loves are in danger, she's willing to do anything to keep them safe, even if that means giving up her magic entirely. But with the Earth in disarray, Clara takes up training with a fellow witch, Sang. If she can learn to control her magic, perhaps she won't have to give it up. As Clara and Sang grow closer, however, Clara wonders if she'll have to choose between her magic and love afterall.


You've never seen elemental witches like this. Their closeness to nature and the beauty of it is truly fantastic and a wonderful break from the norm. Witches fighting against the changing climate and worsening natural disasters is only the half of it.


If at first it feels like the beginning is dragging, hold on my friends because it picks up speed and doesn't slow down.


I loved the characters and, even if I sometimes disagreed with Clara, I related to her so much. I saw so much of myself in this character, it was almost painful at times. But seeing her grow and learn was a wonderful feeling. She's a really interesting protagonist because she's so real. While what she's going through exactly isn't something I can relate to (though, I've wished I had magical powers more than once), her struggles, insecurities, and the way she thinks she needs handle things is so familiar. It only serves to make the story so much more powerful as she struggles through everything and learns from it all.


Seeing how hard I fall for imaginary characters is laughable. Box me up a Sang and send him my way, pretty please. He's such an amazing character to put next to someone like Clara. Completely opposite in nearly every way. Where her magic is a strong force she can't control, his is calming and sweet. I loved how Clara recognizes that, while he makes her better, she doesn't need him in order to be that better person. It's wonderfully written with messages every young reader needs to hear.


Not only is this beautifully written, but the message readers get from it is even more powerful as I mentioned. Being emotional, feeling everything, does not make you weak--it makes you powerful, if you'll let it. And I think that's only the tip of the iceberg of what this book has to offer readers.


Read this book, I promise you won't be disappointed.

You Might Also Like: